Main menu



English Premier League (EPL)

 The Premier League (legal name: The Football Association Premier League Limited) is the top flight of men's soccer in the England League (EFL) and operates on a promotion-relegation system. The season usually runs from August to May, with each team playing 38 matches (both home and away against 19 other teams). Most games are played on Saturday and Sunday afternoons, but occasionally on weekday evenings.

Origins of EPL

After the great success of the 1970s and early 1980s in Europe, the late 1980s was a period of stagnation for English soccer. Stadiums collapsed, supporters endured poor facilities, hooliganism was rampant, and English clubs were banned from European competitions for five years after the 1985 accident at the Heysel Stadium. since 1888, the first division of the Football League, the pinnacle of English soccer, has been the only division in Europe with a higher attendance and lagged behind Serie A and Spain's La Liga in terms of revenue, and several of England's top players had moved abroad.

Establishment of EPL

After the 1990-1991 season, a proposal was made to create a new league that would bring more money into soccer, and on July 17, 1991, a founding members agreement signed by the top league clubs set the groundwork for the creation of the FA Premier League. The newly created Top League was to be commercially independent of the Football Association and the Football League, and the FA Premier League was to be granted a license to negotiate its own broadcasting and sponsorship deals. It was argued at the time that the increased revenues would allow English clubs to compete with European teams.

Competition of EPL

There are 20 clubs in the Premier League, and during one season (August-May) each club plays 38 games, twice against other clubs (in a two-round-robin format), once at their home stadium and once at the opponents' stadium. A win is worth 3 points, a draw is worth 1 point, and a loss is worth 0 points. Rankings are determined by total goals scored, goal difference, and points won, in that order. If there is still a tie, the teams will be considered to be ranked in the same order. In the event of a tie for the championship, relegation, or qualification to another tournament, the result of the head-to-head match between the tied teams will be considered (in the order of points scored in the match between the teams and away goals scored in that match). If there is still a tie, a playoff will be held on a neutral site to determine the standings.

Promotion and Relegation of EPL

A promotion and relegation system exists between the Premier League and the EFL Championship. The bottom three teams from the Premier League are relegated to the Championship, the top two teams from the Championship are promoted to the Premier League, and one team is promoted in a playoff between the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth place clubs In 1995, the number of clubs was reduced from 22 to 20, four teams were relegated and only In 1995, the number of clubs was reduced from 22 to 20, four teams were relegated, and only two were promoted. The top flight was expanded to 22 teams at the start of the 1991-92 season, the year before the establishment of the Premier League.

On June 8, 2006, FIFA asked the major European leagues, including Italy's Serie A and Spain's La Liga, to reduce the number of teams to 18 by the start of the 2007-08 season. In response, the Premier League expressed its intention to resist such a reduction. In the end, the 2007-08 season will restart with 20 teams.